Introduction

 

Trung (based on the endonym Tvrung — 独龙, or Dulong, in Chinese) is a Tibeto-Burman language spoken in Gongshan Nu and Dulong Autonomous County, Yunnan Province, China, in dozens of villages alongside the Dulong River. Trung and its related languages are still poorly understood by outsiders, but preserve many of the most archaic traits of the Tibeto-Burman family. Approximately 7,000 people are officially classified by the Chinese state as ethnic Dulong — including many now living beyond traditional Trung territory. A similar number of people now classified as ethnic Nu live one valley east along the Nu river and speak Gongshan Nu, a closely related but distinct variety. This dictionary is an attempt to document the language varieties of the several thousand speakers living along the Dulong River, with a strong focus on the Third Township dialect.
 

The Concise Trung-Chinese-English Dictionary《简明独龙语汉语英语词典》is the product of decades of work by Trung and non-Trung scholars. However partial and provisional, it represents the genius of the Trung language as spoken today by thousands of Trung people. This trilingual Dictionary, which includes Chinese and English, has been compiled, edited, and disseminated both for those speakers and for interested outsiders everywhere. The aim of the Dictionary is to play a supporting role, wherever possible, in the continued flourishing and development of the Trung language.

 

Few minority languages in China have remained unaffected by the spread of Chinese, particularly in recent years, and only the largest such languages (Uighur, Zhuang, Tibetan, Lisu etc.) are used in education and media and can be said to be “safe” in the coming few generations. Most other minority languages — in northwest Yunnan, Anong (with fewer than 100 speakers) is a sign of things to come — are now seriously endangered. Despite its relatively small number of speakers, Trung has remained viable principally because of its isolation, currently at least two days’ journey from Kunming, the provincial capital. The first, largely unpaved road into the Dulong River valley was only completed in 1999. Until the end of 2014, this road was closed off by snow during winter months.

 

Now, significant and rapid changes to local lifeways are occurring throughout the region, including among Trung speakers: swidden agriculture and hunting have been banned and phased out; entire villages have been resettled and rebuilt; environmental protection, reforestation, electricity, and a cash economy have been introduced. Other major changes are taking place in the areas of culture and religion — the coming of television, cell phones, internet, and a local form of Christianity, accompanied by the disappearance of older cultural forms. Outsiders are still rare, but tourists, border guards, officials, teachers, traders, temporary laborers are arriving in growing numbers. The Chinese government is making a strong push to develop the region.

 

Trung is an officially recognised language in Gongshan Autonomous County — clearly felt to be a distinct language by its speakers, though dialect differences are recognized and discussed. There are a few second-language speakers of Trung, mainly those who married into the community and live in the area. Most Trung still speak the language to varying degrees as a mother tongue, with increasing proficiency in Southwest Mandarin, Standard Chinese, Lisu, Tibetan, Gongshan Nu, and even Burmese. The Trung community has generally accepted the exonym Dulong 独龙, but speakers of related Rawang varieties across the Burmese border often continue to identify by clan or locality, reflecting older practice.

 

Trung is used primarily in the home, in the village, and in informal community settings. The presence of one outsider in a conversation may be enough for speakers to switch languages, and there is some shyness on the part of Trung people in speaking their language in unfamiliar or urban settings, among outsiders. Some classroom instruction at the primary school level is held in an informal mixture of Trung and Chinese, but the goal is generally not to enhance Trung proficiency. Any higher-level schooling takes place in Chinese in the county seat of Gongshan, which is largely Chinese- and Lisu-speaking.

 

The Trung orthography uses Latin letters, based on a system first conceived by American linguist and missionary Robert Morse for Rawang in Burma. The effort to create a Trung orthography on this basis and the initial outlines of such a system date back the mid-1980s and have continued down to the present day thanks to the efforts of Trung scholars.

 

Although no competing standard exists, the current orthography has only been implemented to a limited degree — the most notable efforts include training sessions for teachers and a series of standard primary school textbooks (bilingual, with Trung translations by Li Jinming and Li Aixin). To some extent, audio-visual documentation of the spoken language has used and will continue to use the orthography for transcription and dissemination. There is currently little in terms of other texts or media, and little use of the orthography in daily life.

 

The Dictionary contains over 4,000 entries and over 1,500 example sentences, all translated into Chinese and English, as well as reversal indices in those languages — for an intended audience that is both Trung and non-Trung. The headwords and example sentences come from a variety of sources, including recordings and the native fluency of three of the editors themselves. All the editors are familiar with Third Township Trung, which was chosen here as the standard for the following reasons: 1) its central linguistic place in the Trung dialect chain, 2) its use in the political and commercial center of the Dulong River valley, Kongdang, and 3) its status as the best-known variety. Li Jinming is a native speaker of First Township Trung, Li Aixin is a native speaker of Fourth Township Trung, and Yang Jiangling is a native Third Township speaker who also has knowledge of Fourth Township Trung. Most of Ross Perlin’s research has focused on the Third Township variety.

 

The main section of the Dictionary is organized in Trung alphabetical order, based on English alphabetical order. The Chinese reversal index is ordered according to pinyin spelling, followed by tone, then the number of strokes, with secondary sequencing as needed (e.g. 哀, 唉, 挨 etc). A single entry is listed with multiple senses, the most frequent or prototypical first, where the semantic links are clear (e.g. lvng’la, “man, husband”). Otherwise two or more homographs are considered separate words and listed as different entries, again in order of frequency wherever possible. Example sentences or phrases, which represent naturalistic data wherever possible, are used to illustrate the word in action, or highlight particularly frequent collocations.

 

In Trung, there are productive morphological processes for transforming words through affixation — kei “eat” becomes keisa “food”, svlvp “teach” becomes salvp “teach each other” or svlvpsheu “learn”. Reduplication is one such morphological process whose workings are hard to trace in the context of the Dictionary: a distributive meaning with nouns (“every”), intensification with many verbs (vdung “middle” becomes vdungdung “right in the middle”, pvshing “green” becomes pvshingshing “very green”), and other subtler shades of meaning depending on context.

 

The most frequent and predictable morphological transformations in Trung involve the intransitive prefix v-, the causative prefix sv-/tv-, the suffix indicating reflexive or middle voice -sheu, the reciprocal prefix v-, and the nominalizing affixes vng- and -sa. The Dictionary includes a fair number of words transformed by these affixes, but in general the complex forms are listed only if they are particularly frequent (e.g. keisa)或意义难以预测的(如:blang “forage” / svblang “put out to pasture”). In some cases, as with the nominalizing prefix vng-, the more commonly cited form is given, e.g. vng’leum “egg”, even though leum ” is also readily understood and used in compounds. Both u “head” and vng’u “head” are included because both are frequently used — the meaning is identical but the context of use may vary. It is difficult to come up with a one-size-fits-all policy for deciding what headword to list — our decision has been to list more forms rather than fewer.
 

A general rule of thumb: given the heavily prefixing nature of Trung specifically and Tibeto-Burman more generally, it can be useful to look up both syllables of any disyllabic word.

 

Trung parts of speech do not always map easily onto English or Chinese categories — the parts of speech included in the Dictionary should be treated as a very rough guide. Adjectives, for instance, do not exist as an independent class within Trung, but are rather a subset of intransitive verbs — “new”, for instance, might be translated as “be new”, adding a nominalizer for use in a noun phrase such as “new book”. Likewise, classifiers appear to be a relatively open class, capable of being derived from a large number of verbs and nouns, e.g. mvgraq “grab” becomes ti mvgraq “one fistful”.

 

Finally, the Dictionary is meant not only as a guide to the core lexicon of the language, but as an introduction to Trung culture and history. More than just a list of words, the lexicon is a system with structure and pattern — whether that structure is transparent (water-related words containing ngang / wang ) or currently opaque (water-related words containing chv-). The lexicon has remarkable richness in areas directly tied to Trung lifeways such as swidden agriculture and hunting. The Dictionary almost certainly under-represents the variety and diversity of what it does describe — there is substantial phonetic, lexical, and semantic variation even within dialects — which can be increasingly difficult to document as the older generation passes away. A full multi-dialectal Dictionary, accompanied by a substantial and various corpus of texts and an in-depth grammatical description, would begin to close the massive gap, which the Concise Dictionary only hints at.

 

Although a great deal of specialist vocabulary is not in the Dictionary — knowledgeable Trung elders can name many more plants and animals that we could include here, for instance — there are still dozens of bird names, plant species, and many terms referring to Trung history, religion, and myth. Wherever possible, we have provided brief descriptions (too often without scientific names, unfortunately), marked archaic terms, and indicated the context of use. Hopefully these brief entries will be points of entry rather than endpoints, inspiring the student of Trung culture to dig deeper into existing ethnographic material, or if possible to learn more from Trung people themselves.

简介

 

独龙语(Trung,来自独龙族的自称 Tvrung)属于藏缅语系。独龙语使用者居于中国云南省怒江傈僳族自治州贡山独龙族怒族自治县的独龙河流域的几十个村落。独龙语及其相关语言尚未被外界很好地理解,但其保留了许多藏缅语族最古老的特征。中国政府官方认定的独龙族人口约为7000,包括了很多现在不住在独龙族传统聚居地的人。另一群人数相近的聚居于怒江河谷东岸的怒族人也说着跟独龙语关系密切但又有明显差异的贡山怒语。这本词典尝试记录了独龙江沿岸数千独龙语使用者的语言差异,尤以三乡方言为重点。

 

《简明独龙语汉语英语词典》(The Concise Trung-Chinese-English Dictionary) 是独龙族和非独龙族学者几十年敬业工作的产物。尽管它还不算全面,也不是最终版本,但它已是数千独龙族人民至今仍在使用的独龙语的精要代表。这一包含汉语和英语的三语词典,是为独龙人民和其他所有感兴趣的读者编纂、校订和推广的。这本词典的目标是在独龙语的持续发展和繁荣中起到可能的支持作用。

 

近年来,中国的少数民族语言很少不受汉语传播的影响,只有最大的几个少数民族语言(维吾尔语、壮语、藏语、傈僳语等)在教育和媒体中使用,因而在未来数代人中尚可说是“安全的”。其它绝大多数的少数民族语言都存在消亡可能,例如云南西北部的阿侬语。尽管使用者很少,独龙语一直存活至今主要是因为它的封闭性,从省会昆明出发的旅程也至少需要两天。第一条进入独龙江河谷的土路仅在1999年才完工,但直到2014年年底,它在冬季时仍然会因为大雪而封闭。

 

现在,整个区域的生活都在发生着显著和快速的改变,独龙族人民也不例外:刀耕火种和狩猎围捕已经被禁止或者淘汰;很多村已经被整体迁建;环境保护、退耕还林、电力及现金经济等被引入。文化和宗教方面也发生着重大的变化:电视、手机、互联网和当地基督教的兴起绊随着传统文化形式的消失。虽然外地人还是相对较少,但外来的游客、边警、官员、教师、商人和务工人员正越来越多。中国政府正不断地推动该地区的发展。

 

独龙语是经官方认定的贡山自治县的一种语言,尽管其概念下存在的方言差异已被识别和讨论,但仍被独龙族人认为是一种独特的语言。还有一些非独龙族人能说独龙语,但大部分为有独龙族配偶,生活在该地区的人。绝大多数的独龙族人仍以独龙语为母语,但也会说不同程度的西南官话、普通话、傈僳语、藏语、贡山怒语甚至缅语。独龙族社会基本上已经接受了汉语名称“独龙”,但说缅甸边境沿线日旺语言方言的人还是依照惯例,对氏族或地区产生认同。

 

独龙语主要用于家庭、村庄和非正式的情况下。交流的时候如果有一位不会说独龙语的人在场时,人们就会改换为非独龙语的语言,而且独龙人在不熟悉的环境中或者在城里,与非独龙人交流时对使用独龙语可能还会感觉害羞。一些小学的课程教学是用独龙语和汉语以非正式的混合方式完成的,但其目标并不是要提高学生的独龙语水平。更高层次的教育一般都是在贡山县城使用汉语来进行教学的,县城的语言也主要是汉语和傈僳语。

 

独龙文字是基于美国语言学家和传教士Robert Morse在缅甸为日旺语创造的文字而设计的,使用拉丁字母。人们在此系统上创造独龙文字并形成大致轮廓的过程可以追溯到80年代,并且现在的独龙学者们还在不断地发展这种文字。

 

虽然没有其它竞争性的独龙文字存在,但现有独龙文字还没有得到广泛普及。普及这一文字的最重要举措包括对教师的培训课程和一系列标准化的小学教材(双语,李金明和李爱新完成汉语到独龙语的翻译)。从某种程度上来说,记录口语的视听材料已经在使用中,而未来,文字材料将被用来抄写和传播。文字材料目前在文本或媒体中使用得很少,在日常生活中也同样用得不多。

 

本词典包含4000多个词条和1500多个例句,它们均被译为汉语和英语,同时包含汉语和英语的反查列表,可同时为独龙族和非独龙族使用者使用。词目和例句均来自多种来源,包括录音和三个以独龙语为母语的编辑自己。所有编辑对独龙语的三乡话都比较熟悉,并将其选为独龙语的标准语,原因如下:1)它处于独龙语方言链的中心位置;2)三乡现在是独龙江峡谷的政治和商业中心;3)三乡话是最为人所熟悉的一种独龙方言。李金明以一乡话为母语,李爱新以四乡话为母语,杨将领以三乡话为母语,也是四乡话的专家。潘若思(Ross Perlin)的大部分研究则以三乡话为焦点。

 

该词典的主要部分是以独龙字母顺序(亦是基于英文字母顺序)排列的。汉语的反查列表是根据拼音、声调、笔划数排列的(如哀、唉、挨等)。意义上的关系明显时,一个词条会同时列出多种含义,并且最常见的含义排在第一位(如:lvng’la“男人,丈夫”)。意义关系不明显时,两个(或以上)含义被排列为不同的词条,并尽可能把最常见的含义排在前面。例句和短语尽可能代表自然的独龙语口语,用来说明单词的用法,或突出显示常用搭配。

 

独龙语有许多生产新词的词法变化,词缀法如 kei “吃”可变为 keisa “食物”, svlvp “教”可变为 salvp “互相教”或者 svlvpsheu “学习”。重叠法是词法变化的另一种方法,这种变化难以在词典中反映出来:名词重叠有分指意义(如“每一个”),而大多数动词重叠则有加强意义(如 vdung “中间”变为 vdungdung “正中间” pvshing “绿色的”变为 pvshingshing “很绿的”),其它更微妙的意义变化需要结合上下文考虑。

 

独龙语最常见、最可预测的词法变化是不及物前缀 v-,互动前缀 v-,使动前缀 sv-/tv-,反身态/中间态后缀 -sheu,以及名词化词缀 vng- -sa 。本词典已包括了很多通过词缀变化而产生的复合词条,这些词条通常是特别常见(如: keisa )或意义难以预测的(如 blang “找草料”→ svblang “放牧”)。有时候,本词典会给出名词化前缀使用后最常见的意义,如用 vng’leum 的前缀 vng,常见的意“蛋”,尽管 leum 也很容易理解并且常用于复合词。 u “头”和 vng’u “头”都列出是因为两者都很常见,但两者虽然意义相同,但在不同上下文中用法有所区别。由于难以找到通用的解决方法,我们尽可能列出了较多的词条。

 

总体使用方法:独龙语(像其他藏缅语系的语言一样)有较多的前缀,对于双音节词建议同时查看每一个音节的对应条目。

 

独龙语的词性类别不一定和汉语或英语的词性类别相配,因此本词典收录的词性应该仅被视为一个非常粗略的指南。例如,独龙语中形容词不算作独立的词性,而更可能是不及物动词的一个子集。例如英文中的“如英文中的“new”或中文中的“新的”这样的形容词,在独龙语中为不及物动词“是新的”,在需要表达“新书”这样的名词时需要在之前增加名词化前缀。同样,量词似乎是一个相对开放的词性,能够从大量动词和名词中衍生,如 mvgraq “抓住”可变为 ti mvgraq “一把可以抓住的(量)的”。

 

最后,本词典不仅是对独龙语核心词汇的指南,更作为一个介绍独龙文化和历史的资源。本词典不仅是一个词汇的列表,还强调了词汇中的结构和模式,无论是直观的(如与“水“有关的词汇 ngang / wang 或不直观的(其它与“水”有关的词汇,如包含 chv- 的词汇)。词汇的丰富性和多样性与独龙族传统的生活和文化有很密切的关系,“刀耕火种”便是很好的例子。本词典显然低估了独龙语的多样性、独龙语各方言中的语音、词汇、语义多样性都在随着老一代人的去世而越来越难以记录。一本包含大量多样语料和深度语法描述的详实词典能够弥补这种低估,但这本简明词典只为抛砖引玉而为。

 

虽然很多专业化的词汇不包括在本词典中,例如知识渊博的独龙老人能够道出很多鸟类和植物的名称,还有很多关于独龙语历史、宗教和神话的词汇。本词典尽可能地提供了简要的介绍(不幸地是大多没有提供学名),标记出古代的词汇,并把它们的用法包括在内。我们希望这本词典能成为一个开拓性的工作,鼓舞有志于研究独龙文化的研究者进一步深入探索现有民族志材料,或尽可能向独龙族人民进行更多的学习。